Gane Todorovski

/Gane Todorovski
Gane Todorovski 2018-08-21T17:17:13+00:00

Project Description

poet, translator, essayist literary critic and historian, publicist. Born 11th May 1929 in Skopje. Graduated from the Faculty of Philosophy, University “Ss. Cyril and Methodius” in Skopje, where he gained his Ph.D. with the thesis “Slavs Veda and its mystificators. Worked as a journalist with “Tanjug”, “Mlad borec” and “Studentski zbor”. Long-time professor of Croation and Macedonian Literature of 19th century at the Faculty of Philology in Skopje. One-time president of the Macedonian Writers’ Association (1969-1971) and (1985-86). President of the Board of the Struga Poetry Evenings Festival, and editor-in-chief of the journal “Mlada literatura”. Ambassador of R.Macedonia to the Russian Federation. Member of the Macedonian Academy of Arts and Sciences. Member of the Macedonian P.E.N. Centre. Member of the Macedonian Writers’ Association since 1951.
Works: In the mornings (poetry, 1951), Disturbing sounds (poetry, 1953), Peaceful step (poetry, 1956), Rainbow (poetry, 1960), Apotheosis of the working day (poetry, 1964), Predecessors of Misirkov (studies and comments, 1968), Bitter sips of disquiet (poetry, 1970), A rather ugly day (poetry, 1974), A treatise on those who love the Sun (essays and notes, 1974), Slavs Veda (1979), Magic Contest (literary notes, 1979), The people of Skopje (poetry, 1981), Further from enthusiasm, closer to grief (studies, 1983), With a word to the word (studies and criticism, 1985), An expedition to Helicon (studies, 1987), Trouble, Treachery, Sleeplessness (poetry, 1987), Inevitable Curiosities (studies, notes, criticism, 1987), The unattainable (poetry, 1995), A lonely traveller (poetry in English, 1996). Has compiled the following anthologies: “The Poem-Courage” (1975), “Austrian Poetry of 20th century” (1982), and others. He is also a co-author of the anthologies: “Slovenian Poets” (1952), “The Lake Land” (1967), “Pravostojna” (contemporary poetry by poets of Albanian ethnicity in Yugoslavia, 1968), “New Croation poetry” (1973), “Contemporary Croation Poetry” (1981).
Awards include: “Koco Racin”, “11th October”, “13th November”, “Miladinov Brothers, “Kliment Ohridski”, “Goce Delcev”, “Dimitar Mitrev”, the Award for his entire work by “Misla” and the “Grigor Prlicev”, “Kiril Pejcinovic” and “Zlatno pero” Awards for translation.

Address: Ilindenska, 60, 1000 Skopje.
Tel: ++ 389 02 227 560.

Related Articles